White Sox Cards Contest Winnings & Stuff

Recently, Steve of White Sox Cards held a contest on his blog for some of his White Sox duplicates, that I was lucky enough to catch early via being addicted to twitter.  After about a half hour of going into full-on internet research mode, the answer hit me out of nowhere, and I was able to answer before anyone else.  Saturday evening when I checked my mail on the way out to do some scanning, I found the package had arrived.  And what a package it was. *immature giggle over last sentence goes here*

Not only were there White Sox, but also some Cubbies to make up for his end of this (I totally need to make that pic my avatar, btw) trade never making it to me (which I totally forgot about till skimming over old links recently), presumably being lost to whatever mythical place the stuff that the USPS loses goes to.  Denver is probably a safe guess.

Anyway, here are some scans of most of the cards from this ridiculously cool and varied lot for your viewing pleasure:

First some Sox…

Nine 2009 Topps White Sox to show off the much-improved photograghy.

Nine 2009 Topps White Sox to show off the much-improved photograghy.

Alexei Ramirez is a keeper, and I gave a few of Sox to my dad.  He doesn’t really collect, but he’s a big, long-time White Sox fan.  Gotta love the airborne Quentin and Konerko.

2006 Fleer Tradition, 2009 Walmart Variation, 1993 Fleer

2006 Fleer Tradition, 2009 Walmart Variation, 1993 Fleer

I think Paul Konerko and Jermaine Dye are easily two of the most underrated players of the last 20 years.

I have a blaster’s worth of Target retro, but the Griffey is the first black Walmart variation in my collection.  I likey.

The Lance Johnson card is a great shot.  It looks like he’s about to lose the ball though.

White Sox From Steve 2

1986 Topps, 1991 Fleer Ultra, 1992 Donruss Studio

I had no idea how long Steve Lyons was around.  This may be because I was a year old in ’86, I dunno.

Fleer Ultra had pretty humble beginnings, eh?  Robin Ventura is another underrated Sox star.  Is anyone but Frank Thomas not?

I love Studio.  I’m keeping that card.

1991 Topps, 2008 Upper Deck First Edition

1991 Topps, 2008 Upper Deck First Edition

Is that not a classic Frank Thomas card?  A thing of beauty.  Why can I not get ’91 Topps in my craptacular repack boxes instead of ’89 Topps?

I know nothing about Lance Broadway other than he has an awesome name.  I hope he gets to play for the Mets or Yankees at some point it his career, I’m just sayin’.

2007 Turkey Red

2007 Turkey Red

Now that is art.  2007 was the one year Turkey Red looked GOOD and was worthy of being a set of it’s own.

I think I’m gonna break this up into two posts.  Watching the Mets & Braves and really wanting to draw, so I’m not all here.  So I will leave you with this:

Vintage Baby~!!

Vintage Baby~!!

1959 Topps Sam Esposito.  Wow, you know you’re a hardcore collector when you start getting dupes of cards from the ’50s!  What a cool card.  Thank you so much, Steve.  As soon as I get ahold of some good stuff, I’ll make sure to return the favor.

.::~Outtro~::.

3 thoughts on “White Sox Cards Contest Winnings & Stuff

  1. Glad they arrived safely and I’m happy that some of the Sox are making it into the collection. FYI, Lance Broadway was traded to the New York Mets in May.

    • lonestarr says:

      Ah, thanks. I knew he was traded, but didn’t know where. With all the injuries, they could definitely use him right about now.

  2. Charlena says:

    Hello!! .!! Happy Thanksgiving! . 🙂 🙂
    Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays, and every year I like to get into the mood-extend the holiday, since it were-by reading “Thanksgiving novels.” Not surprisingly, those stories are mostly about family, about coming together to heal old hurts and giving thanks for the gift of love. … .. —
    Are You Better Off Today Than You Were three Yrs Ago?

Leave a Reply

