At the End of the Decade

The decade is coming to an end.  We’re more than 2/3 of the way through it’s last year.  The weather is beginning to cool as 2009 starts to wind down.  It is a time of reflection, a time to look back, as we prepare to move ever forward into the great unknown.

My own personal ’00s weren’t so good.  Growing up ain’t easy, and I found it especially tough.  As I struggled and failed to find my way through, it was as if timed stopped as the new millennium began, and only now, as we approach it’s first decade’s conclusion, do I feel like time has started to flow for me again.

I don’t know what it was that started my life moving forward again this year after being stuck in neutral for so long.  I don’t know if it was some outside force or something snapping within my mind, but something changed.  The wheels are in motion once more, and I’ve begun to truly feel alive for the first time in a very long time.

Of course, I’m not close to where I want to be, the process of healing my troubled little mind has only just begun, but… it has started.  I’m a little less depressed, a little more confident, a little less self-loathing, and little more proactive in keeping it that way.  My energy level is a little higher and I’m doing my best to be active and focus a little bit better.

However, being out of circulation for so long itself wasn’t without side effects.  I stand before you now as a 24 year old in body only; I’m stunted no less than a decade younger in emotional maturity, to speak nothing of life experience.  It is a strange feeling, to be sure.  The disconnect between my body and my mind is weird and kinda difficult to reconcile, but considering where my head has been for so long, it’s a comparatively minor issue.  Heh. 😉

So this is where I’m at, and it is what it is.  And as 2009 goes around turn three and we head into the fall and the reflective feelings it inspires, what is it from the past 10 years that you will reflect on, as the decade comes to an end?

Until our next…

One thought on “At the End of the Decade

  1. Ms. Latina says:

    Wonderful post! I am rooting for you, as I’m sure many others are. Be well my friend!

Leave a Reply

