Rockies?

But, but… Imma Cubs fan!  It’s okay though.  It seems there are no card bloggers who care to collect the Colorado Rockies, so until a real Rockies collector emerges… I’ll do it.

But not yet.  I’m not taking the job until January 1st, 2010.  That way, there’s still over half a month for a real fan to stake their claim, and I can continue to get the vast majority of my backlog of trades taken care of before taking on this new project.

As for why I would do this?  Well, the Rockies are near the top of the list of teams I kinda like besides the Cubs.  They are a ridiculously exciting team in recent years, capable of going on crazy runs out of nowhere.  I also thought they were pretty cool back in the late ’90s with Galarraga, Castilla, Bichette, and Larry Walker doing damage.

There are no Rockies I’d go out of my way to collect for myself (besides the Big Cat maybe), but I can accept people’s unwanted Rockies if they have no better use for them with a smile until a real fan comes along.  Then, whenever the real Rockies fan/collector comes along (surely one will eventually right?  Right???), uh, I guess I’ll just send whatever unwanted Rockies have come my way (minus the Galarragas, I’m just sayin’) to that person.  Should it come to this, that’s a simple enough plan right?

2 thoughts on “Rockies?

  1. Offy says:

    I collected the Rockies for one year. That first year of expansion was such a big deal that I collected as much Rockies and Marlins stuff as I could find. It’s definitely one of the things that I have to write up a post about before too long.

  2. Ken says:

    Good plan! Todd Helton is a fun one to collect because he has had a great career but is still relatively inexpensive. Same with Larry Walker.

    Tough to find Rockies pitchers to collect through the years though. Ubaldo Jimenez had a nice season in 2009 and has a gun for an arm. He also is reasonably priced for now. He could explode into a superstar soon.

Leave a Reply

